By default, everyone with access to a vault sees all its folders. To keep a folder, such as HR or Board, to a few people:
Right-click the folder or note and choose Access…
Choose Only selected teams and people.
Use Give access to add the teams and people who should see it, each with a level.
Only workspace owners and admins can limit a folder, and they can always still open it.